BLUE Yeti Lead

This forum provides an area for Drunken, lost or just generally confused subjects.
No talk about PC games.
Rules still apply though.
Geoffwill
Second Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant

BLUE Yeti Lead

Post by Geoffwill »

Hey folks, i have a blue yeti and one day i came in and either me or the young lad had bent the lead right back, ever since that it hasn't worked, if i shake the lead the red light comes on but it doesn't appear in the settings. Sometimes it also makes all the other lights on my USB adapter blink. I have tried a few other leads (non blue yeti) but they don't work at all. Has anyone had any issues like this and maybe a certain type of lead works? The Real leads seem hard to come by :(

Thanks Geoff
Haarfagr
Sergeant
Sergeant

Re: BLUE Yeti Lead

Post by Haarfagr »

I doubt the Yeti has a special USB lead, should just be a normal one, right? If they have made only the original one work, I would never buy anything Blue ever again :P
I have no experience with the mic itself, so don't know what else might be the issue.
Dildo McBaggins
Warrant Officer 1
Warrant Officer 1

Post by Dildo McBaggins »

I don’t think it is a special cable. Any mini usb cable should work. If you have a ps4, you could try the charging cable for it. Also, to rule out any other issues. Try plugging it directly into a known working USB port on your pc tower. Not into any external USB hubs.

If it isn’t the lead. It could be the actually usb plug on the mic(Where you plug the cable into). Which could be a lose/broken solder joint. Not to hard to fix if you have used a soldering iron before on electronics. Of course this would void any warranty if you did decide to open it up.
xoF

Post by xoF »

I would start from going to device manager and uninstalling blue yeti drivers completely and connecting it again. If doesn't work then try different pc just to be sure. If then it doesn't work : warranty
Dildo McBaggins
Warrant Officer 1
Warrant Officer 1